Where to Live in Malaga

where to live in malaga

Let’s help you decide where to live in Malaga …

If you do not already know the area that you are thinking about moving to Malaga, or buying a property in Malaga,  it is really important to do your research. This is where we can help you. We will not be writing the usual “sell the dream” descriptions of areas, we will be publishing descriptions written by residents of each area. They will give you insider tips and information and help you decide where to live in Malaga.

We will also show you how to find the best long term rental properties  and the best properties to buy, in each area in the Malaga province of southern Spain.

Let’s begin with a general overview of the Malaga province …

The Province of Málaga is located on the southern coast of Spain, in the Autonomous Community of Andalusia. It is bordered by the provinces of Cádiz, Sevilla, Córdoba and Granada and the Mediterranean Sea to the South.

The province is divided into the comarcas of:  Antequera, Axarquia, Malaga, Guadalhorce Valley, Serriana of Ronda and the well known Costa del Sol. Within these six comarcas (equivalent to a British “shire” but with no administrative role), there are 101 municipalities.

Historically, the majority of the population lived in the fishing villages, and in the “white” villages in the mountains running down to the coast. Since the 1950’s the area has been developed to meet the demands of international tourism and has since been a popular destination for foreign tourists and people looking for a second home or a new, permanent home in the sun.

The Costa del Sol ( the name often used to refer to the coastal area of the Malaga province) is situated between two lesser known Costas: Costa de la Luz and Costa Tropical. The Costa del Sol region comprises the coastal towns and communities along the Mediterranean coastline of the Málaga province. Extending from the cliffs at Maro in the East to Punto Chullera in the West. (Further details on the towns and villages in these areas can be found in the articles linked at the bottom of this page).

The Costa del Sol Occidental includes the municipalities of Málaga, Torremolinos, Benalmádena, Fuengirola, Mijas, Marbella, San Pedro de Alcántara, Estepona, Manilva and Casares, to the West and Rincon de la Victoria, Vélez-Málaga, Nerja, Frigiliana and Torrox to the East. (Further details on the towns and villages in this area can be found in the articles at the bottom of this page).

This is possibly the most popular area for foreigners moving to the Malaga province. The variety this area offers are second to none. Luxury marinas, top quality villas, rural village houses, rustic fincas and fantastic holiday rental opportunities can all be found on the Costa del Sol.

Axarquía is situated to the East of Málaga capital. The capital of Axarquia is Vélez-Málaga. The Vélez, Algarrobo and Torrox rivers all run through the region. Its highest mountain is La Maroma. Despite its proximity to the Costa del Sol, Axarquia retains its agricultural and more traditional Spanish character. It is a popular tourist destination with all nationalities and the lower real estate prices attract many foreigners looking for a new home in a more rural Spain.

Axarquia includes the municipalities of: Alcaucín, Alfarnate, Alfarnatejo, Algarrobo, Almáchar, Árchez, Arenas, Benamargosa, Benamocarra, El Borge, Canillas de Aceituno, Canillas de Albaida, Colmenar, Comares, Cómpeta, Cútar, Frigiliana, Iznate, Macharaviaya, Moclinejo, Nerja, Periana, Rincón de la Victoria, Riogordo, Salares, Sayalonga, Sedella,Torre del Mar, Torrox, Totalán, Vélez-Málaga and La Viñuela.

The Serrania of Ronda includes the municipalities of : Algatocín, Alpandeire, Arriate, Atajate, Benadalid, Benalauría,Benaoján, Benarrabá, Cartajima, Cortes de la Frontera, Faraján, Gaucín, Genalguacil, Igualeja, Jimera de Líbar, Jubrique, Júzcar, Montejaque, Parauta, Pujerra, Ronda

The comarca of Antequera, in the North of Malaga province borders the province of Cordoba. Popular towns in this are are Villanueva del Rosario, Fuente de Piedra, Alozania, Casabermeja and Iznate.

The Guadalhorce Valley, a close neighbour to the Costa del Sol, includes the municipalities of Coin, Alhaurín de la Torre, Alhaurín el Grande, Almogía, Álora, Cártama, Pizarra and Valle de Abdalajís. Similar to the Axarquia region, this area retains a lot of its original agricultural and rural character whilst offering modern options at very competitive prices. Thanks to recent improvements in infrastructure, access to the Costa del Sol coastal areas is excellent.

Read the Sur in English Supplement about living in Southern Spain Here.

CLICK HERE to read how to find the best location for you …

For information about particular areas of Malaga, written by people who live there, please read the following articles (just click on the name of the place you would like to read about):

Coín , El Rosario MarbellaLos Boliches Fuengirola , Mijas , Nerja , Riogordo , Ronda,

My Book about Moving to Spain Read the reviews and look inside here …

By Lisa Sadleir

This site is protected by wp-copyrightpro.com

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This